DesignMarch — Upscale

5.5.2022 — 15.5.2022

National Gallery of Iceland
Auglýsing fyrir sýninguna Uppskölun á Hönnunarmars
National Gallery of Iceland

5.5.2022 15.5.2022

Project manager

Sigga Heimis

Project manager of events

Ragnheiður Vignisdóttir

Marketing manager

Guðrún Jóna Halldórsdóttir

 

"Upscale" is an exhibition where selected artists and designers pay a tribute to the unique material of marble. Part of the group knows the subject very well, but others are getting to know it for the first time. Emphasis is placed on simplicity and usability in order for the material to show its best quality.

 

The foreign participants in the exhibition are known for their unique approach to the use of marble in their design and artistic creation. Visitors will therefore have an invaluable opportunity to see some of the best in the world when it comes to designing from high quality marble.

 

On May 5 at 15:00, Luciano Massari, artist and rector of the University of the Arts in Carrara, will give a lecture at Safnahúsið / The House of Collections at Hverfisgata 15, where he holds a lecture on the nature of Carrara marble and its artistic value through the centuries.

Emphasis is placed on simplicity and usability in order for the material to show its best quality.

List of participants:
Andrea & Simone Dell’Amico www.studioformart.com 
Anna Fabrizi

Karin Reichmuth  www.karin-reichmuth.kleio.com/

Lotte Breithaupt of Thea Design www.thea-design.it
Luciano Massari www.lucianomassari.com
Moreno Ratti www.morenoratti.com
Ólafsdóttir www.olafs-dottir.com
Paolo Ulian www.paoloulian.it 
Sigga Heimis www.siggaheimis.com
Sindri Gunnarsson

Systa Björnsdóttir www.systa.me

The Upscale exhibition will be formally open at National Gallery of Iceland, Fríkirkjuvegur 7, at 16:00. It will last until May 15.

Treasures of Icelandic Art

The museum is open every day from 10AM — 5PM.