A Kassen Carnegie Art Award 2014

  • 13.2.2015 - 10.5.2015, Listasafn Íslands

The Carnegie Art Award is a prestigious art prize, established in 1998 by the Carnegie Investment Bank with the aim of promoting contemporary Nordic painting and promising young artists from Scandinavia. In November 2013 A Kassen won third prize, awarded the sum of SEK 400,000 and an obligation to take part in a touring exhibition.

Other Carnegie Art Award 2014 artists were: Max Book (SE), Einar Garibaldi Eiríksson (IS), Dag Erik Elgin (NO), Davið Örn Halldórsson (IS), Ib Monrad Hansen (DK), Jani Hänninen (FI), Liisa Lounila (FI), LG Lundberg (SE), Marika Mäkelä (FI), Mie Mørkeberg (DK), Anna Retulainen (FI), Riiko Sakkinen (FI), Børre Sæthre (NO), Sophie Tottie (SE), Alexander Tovborg (DK), Mette Winckelmann (DK).

For financial reasons, the Carnegie Art Award was compelled to cancel both the 2014 tour, among them at the Den Frie Centre of Contemporary Art in Copenhagen. Den Frie Centre of Contemporary Art found itself with a gap in the exhibition program and decided to invite A Kassen to create a solo presentation. Their exhibition there, which will now be presented at the National Gallery of Iceland, challenges the institution of art and turns inside out what we understand by such concepts as ‘work,' ‘practice' and ‘exhibition.'

One single, overriding installation forms the expressive basis for A Kassen's exhibition. Based on imagery from the original exhibition, they have recreated the exhibition for the 2014 Carnegie Art Award. The original exhibition, which took place in Stockholm, comprised more than 100 paintings by 17 Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish and Icelandic artists. The exhibition is an overall conceptual expression, which highlights, not just one, but several meanings: originality and the production of art; the art world's power positions; notions of value and ownership; copyright negotiation and global agendas.

A Kassen consists of Christian Bretton-Meyer(1976), Morten Steen Hebsgaard(1977), Soren Petersen(1977) and Tommy Petersen(1975).

Curator:  Jonatan Habib Engqvist